About Us


BustED Pencils; Fully Leaded Education Talk is a new, weekly, 30 minute talk show dedicated to public education. BustED Pencils is known for its commitment to the hard facts with a humorous twist.  Host Dr. Tim Slekar covers the “real” issues in education.

This show establishes and alternative space and discusses education reform from an entirely progressive perspective.  Our approach is funny, edgy, passionate, witty and gritty and features an array of guests.  BustED Pencils explores the political and commercial influences behind education policy.  We deliver trending education news without the jargon  And most importantly, we promote a vision of public schools that all children deserve.

BustED Pencils appeals to parents, grandparents, guardians, teachers, policy makers, tax payers and students alike.

Timothy D Slekar, PhD

Photo on 9-1-14 at 3.19 PM #3

Timothy D Slekar is currently the Dean of the School of Education at Edgewood College in Madison, WI.

He began his career 24 years ago as a 2nd grade teacher in Virginia. He then taught 5th grade in Pennsylvania. Dr. Slekar attended Millersville University where he earned a Master’s degree in Education and continued on to earn his PhD in social studies education at the University of Maryland at College Park. During his studies Dr. Slekar worked with 7th and 8th grade teachers in the city of Baltimore Maryland. Dr. Slekar has published research in various top education research journals including Teacher Education Quarterly, Theory and Research in Social Education and Journal of Thought. Dr. Slekar is one of the founding members of United Opt Out National. He has been a radio cohost on podcast, local & national radio as well as on numerous television news shows as an expert education policy analysist including MSNBC, CNN & Fox News

Our Guests

Already highly respected and established amongst their peers, BustED Pencils has built the most extensive network of top education leaders, including but not limited to: Diane Ravitch, Karen Lewis, Nancy Carlsson-Paige, Stephen Krashen, Peter DeWitt, Anthoy Cody, Peggy Robertson, Ruth Conniff, Pasi Sahlberg, Susan Ohanian, Jonathan Kozol, Carol Burris, Jonathan Pelto, Edu Shyster and Punk Rock Education Specialist Martin Atkins.